LCGA Exhibitions

OPEN e v+ a 2009 / Reading the City

Sunday 24 May 2009, 7pm
Various locations: Limerick City Gallery of Art, former LSAD Building Georges Quay, Istabraq Hall at City Hall and the Hunt Museum.


OPEN e v+ a, as Ireland's pre-eminent annual exhibition of contemporary art, is an open submission exhibition, open to all artists world-wide, working in all media, materials, styles and genres which will be exhibted in various locations throughout Limerick City Centre including Limerick City Gallery of Art, former LSAD Building Georges Quay, Istabraq Hall at City Hall and the Hunt Museum.


The 33rd annual OPEN e v+ a will in 2009 for the first time since 1978 be a co-curated exhibition. The two designated curators, Angelika Nollert / Yilmaz Dziewior, are sharing the responsibilities for adjudicating the submissions, selecting the works and venues, designing the exhibition and its budget allocations, determining the OPEN e v+ a awards and contributing their thoughts to the catalogue essay.


Angelika Nollert, born 1966, studied art history, archaeology and German philology in Würzburg and Münster, achieving her doctorate in 1997. She worked on exhibition projects at different museums, including the Sculpture Projects in Münster 1997. From 1997 to 2000 she was the curator of the Portikus in Frankfurt/Main (1997-2000). In 2001 she took over the project management for the Documenta11 in Kassel (2001). In 2002 she became project manager for Visual Arts at the Siemens Arts Program in Munich. Since 2007 she has been the Director of the New Museum for Art and Design in Nurenberg.

Yilmaz Dziewior, born 1964, studied art history in Bonn and London with his Phd.Thesis on Mies van der Rohe. His texts have been published regularly in Artforum, Camera Austria and Texte zur Kunst. He has written catalogue essays for artists such as Cosima von Bonin, Thomas Demand, Marcel Odenbach, Jorge Pardo, Manfred Pernice, Jack Pierson, Gregor Schneider and Rosemarie Trockel. He has served as free lance curator for the Museum Ludwig in Cologne on the Sarah Lucas project (1997) and was responsible for the contemporary part of the exhibition Art Worlds in Dialogue. From Gauguin to the Global Present (1999/2000). Since January 2001 he has served as Director of the Kunstverein in Hamburg where he presented projects and exhibitions including ones by Willie Doherty, Andrea Fraser, Jack Goldstein, Bodys Isek Kingelez, Louise Lawler, Cildo Meireles and Paul McCarthy. Among his group exhibitions are Andere Räume / Other Spaces, Zusammenhänge herstellen / Contextualize and Bühne 03 / Stage 03, Formalismus. Moderne Kunst heute / Formalism. Modern Art, today and This Place is My Place – Begehrte Orte. As of October 2003 he serves as a professor for art theory at the Hochschule für Bildende Künste in Hamburg (Art Academy Hamburg).



 Olaf Unverzart, Ein Dunnes Kind im Wind, Photographic Series 007, 07-09  Olaf Unverzart, Ein Dunnes Kind im Wind, Photographic Series 015, 07-09  Olaf Unverzart, Ein Dunnes Kind im Wind, Photographic Series 018, 07-09  Olaf Unverzart, Ein Dunnes Kind im Wind, Photographic Series 016, 07-09    



The Curators have selected the work of the following artists for OPEN e v+ a 2009
Nevin Aladag (Turkey/Germany); Andreas Bunte (Germany); Lynda Devenny (Ireland); Willie Doherty (N.Ireland); Andrea Faciu (Romania/Germany); Andreas Fogarasi (Austria); Jan Freuchen (Norway); Garvan Gallagher (Ireland) ; William Hamilton (Ireland)  Diango Hernandez (Cuba/Germany); Michele Horrigan (Ireland); Florian Hüttner (Germany); Luis Jacob (Peru) ; Daniel Knorr (Romania/Germany); Jakob Kolding (Demark/Germany); Nicky Larkin (Ireland); An Te Liu (China/Canada); Sean Lynch (Ireland); Eduardo Daniel Navarro (Argentina); Vukasin Nedeljkovic (Serbia/Ireland); Seamus Nolan (Ireland); Isabella Oberländer (Austria/Ireland); Eoin O’Conaill (Ireland); Siobhan Ogilvy (Ireland); David O’Kane (Ireland) ; Eamon O’Kane (Ireland) ; John O’Reilly (Ireland); Alan Phelan (Ireland); Marjetica PotrĨ (Slovenia)  Gavin Redmond (Ireland); Tom Ryan (Ireland); Jochen Schmith (Germany); Donal Sheehan (Ireland) ; Nicole Six/Paul Petritsch (Austria); Stefanos Tsivopoulos (Greece/Netherlands); Olaf Unverzart (Germany).


An Te Liu, Cloud, Installation 2009  Eamon o Kane, Eames Architects Studio 2009  Jakob Kolding. Untitled Poster Pile, 2008 Nicky Larkin, Pripyat, Filmstill13, 2008    
Sean Lynch, Peligran Falcon Filmstill 2008 Isabella Oberlander, CG_08 Filmstill 2008  Willie Doherty, Three Potential Endings, Filmstill5, 2008 Willie Doherty, Three Potential Endings, Filmstill2, 2008    


Continuing updates will be available at  Please contact with any queries or call +353 (0) 61 318240 Fax: +353 (0) 61 318241 Mobile : +353 (0) 87 94 77042


The Gallery Plan Your Visit Gallery Events Exhibitions The Collection Education Publications Media